Home gym

My first post in a while!

I’ve recently made my own home gym in the garage.  I focused on buying bits and pieces off of ebay and Gumtree to put it together cheaply which was my primary aim. It’s useful to set up a bookmark to jump straight to your search criteria (i.e. I wanted to view all gym equipment within a 30 mile radius of my house).

Where I wasn’t able to buy used, I had to buy brand new. For example I bought a new bench for bench pressing and incline pressing. There were a range of second hand ones but all had a barbell stand built in and were of really poor quality with a weight capacity of only c.200kg. This includes my weight, so it wouldn’t take long to get near the top end of capacity which is not a nice idea! I bought a brand new one off the internet and it arrived pretty quickly.

I’ve actually started a new blog dedicated to gym equipment here.

On top of the bench I acquired not one but two power racks! These were both pretty cheap, one brand new and the other second hand. I got the new one first but then the other one came up so I had to have it 🙂 I ended up selling the new one at a slight loss and kept the second hand one which was very cheap!

Overall I’m pretty pleased with the outcome as I can now lift weights in my garage with no hassle or commute which is awesome. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

I’m still on the lookout for new stuff, I want some adjustable dumbbells and maybe a couple of weight stands too to get the plates off the ground. I’ve got some wood lying around so maybe I’ll build my own… See how that goes!

0 Responses to “Home gym”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

welcome

This is my blog.

I'll mostly be posting pictures I have taken while out and about. I'll add articles and tutorials on interesting things as and when I can.

I hope you like.

archives

my flickr stream

BMW Z4M Roadster Interior

BMW Z4M Roadster Interior

BMW Z4M Roadster Interior

More Photos

